• Home
  • Members on the Move

Board Service Award

Clem Eischen

THE PPS BOARD OF DIRECTORS IS PLEASED TO announce the recipient of this year’s Board Service Award— Clem Eischen, PT.

Clem has been a long time member of PPS, and his past roles have included serving on the Nominating Committee, Chair of the Legislative Committee, and past President of the Section. Clem was also very involved in the efforts to have physical therapist included in the Medicare program. In 1972, Clem was instrumental in forming the PT–PAC, which later transferred under APTA.

Members on the Move

Recent APTA Elections

Several PPS members were elected or re elected to the board of APTA, including Paul Rockar, Jr, PT, DPT, MS, as president and Sharon L. Dunn, PT, PhD, OCS, as vice president.

“Serving in leadership for APTA, particularly at a time when the health care environment is so fluid, is professionally rewarding because it allows those individuals to contribute to the direction of our future,” said Dr. Dunn. “PPS members should consider opportunities to participate, because as entrepreneurs, their creativity and risk tolerance could have a pronounced impact on our ability to meet society’s need for our services.”

Laurita M. Hack, PT, DPT, MBA, PhD, FAPTA, was elected secretary and Elmer Platz, PT, treasurer.

Jeanine M. Gunn, PT, DPT, Kathleen K. Mairella, PT, DPT, MA, and Matthew R. Hyland, PT, PhD, MPA, will serve as directors.

“My PPS membership contributes much to my role on the APTA Board,” said Dr. Mairella. “It connects me to this group of highly engaged and committed members, shows me the direct impact of many of the broader health care policy changes and APTA decisions, and it provides detailed information about practice management and business trends that informs my board decision-making.” Dr. Hyland agrees. “My PPS membership is valuable to me because it helps keep me informed on national trends impacting our profession which affect our practice. As a practitioner who is in the trenches every day treating patients, I look to bring a strong clinical voice to the board, helping to drive positive change for our profession.”

PPS Members on the APTA Board

RockarPhoto President

Paul Rockar, Jr, PT, DPT, MS

Murrysville, PA

Term Expires: 2015

DunnPhoto Vice President
Sharon L. Dunn, PT, PhD, OCS

Shreveport, LA

Term Expires: 2015

hack_laurie Secretary

Laurita M. Hack, PT, DPT, MBA, PhD, FAPTA

Bryn Mawr, PA

Term Expires: 2016

PlatzPhoto Treasurer

Elmer Platz, PT

Vernon, NJ

Term Expires: 2017

GunnPhoto Director

Jeanine M. Gunn, PT, DPT

Mercer Island, WA

Term Expires: 2015

HylandPhoto Director
Matthew R. Hyland, PT, PhD, MPA

New York

Term Expires: 2017
MairellaPhoto Director

Kathleen K. Mairella, PT, DPT, MA

Nutley, NJ

Term Expires: 2017


PPS Board of Directors Update

Jason Richardson has been appointed to the Board of Directors as Director. A vacancy was created due to the resignation of Director Deborah Lechner who stepped down for for personal reasons. Please welcome Jason and thank Deborah for her service to the Private Practice Section.

Copyright © 2018, Private Practice Section of the American Physical Therapy Association. All Rights Reserved.